Web Hosting Buzz Reseller and Dedicated Server Hosting Forums  

Go Back   Web Hosting Buzz Reseller and Dedicated Server Hosting Forums > Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:46 AM
whking whking is offline
New Bee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Smile Hi Matt

Actually my web (reseller) and all client accounts (nearly 100) use the Server IP. No dedicated IP.

So as the provider, you will know the blacklist incident to your server IPs, before we send the Tickets. Isn't it?

Anyway now most of email sending ok but it takes aroun 3 days to solve this.

Also the IP is on 5 Blacklists (Previousely it is on 7 BL) according to www.dnsstuff.com. Is it possible you te remove the ip from those BLs?
(Because anytime it will cause the problem)

For the support ticket : Yes, First I send the support ticket and it takes long time to get a reply
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2009, 10:59 AM
lena.s's Avatar
lena.s lena.s is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 347
Default

If you have already submitted a ticket on this issue please give us a ticket ID and we will try to speed up the process.
If your IP is backlisted, the best thing to do is also to contact our technicians and they will take measures to remove it from blacklist.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2009, 01:30 PM
whking whking is offline
New Bee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Thumbs up Solved but...

Yes that's right.
But this is not only belongs to me and i think there are many resellers on this account.
And at the moment the problem has solved. But the SERVER IP is on 5 Blacklists at the moment. I think it is too high (or abnormal) Isn't it?
(Anyway i am not an expert to tell exactly, but my other reseller accounts don't have such a result)

So it is very good if you can remove the server ip from those blacklists too. I think all resellers on this server agree with me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2009, 02:26 PM
Alan B's Avatar
Alan B Alan B is offline
WHB Helper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,134
Default

Sometimes you may know about the blacklisting before Support does. That's why I suggested that the first step is to report this to Support. They will investigate to find the source of the problem on the server, then they will contact the blacklists to request removal. Support does not have the power to directly remove the IP from the blacklist. Support must request removal from each list, after first suspending the problem account.

No, it is not abnormal. It is undesireable, but not abnormal on shared hosting. Unfortunately, blacklisting happens periodically for shared servers. Likely someone on your server was sending spam, or had a high-volume mailer sending uncontrolled amounts of mail in a short time. Because all senders on a shared server share the same mail server IP, when that spammer gets blacklisted so does everyone else on the server.

That's why I suggested that you tell your clients to set their ISP's SMTP server for outgoing mail, thus bypassing any blacklist issues with the WHB server. IMHO, it's better to have your clients always use their ISP's SMTP server for outgoing mail.
__________________
I am not WHB staff and I am not paid.
I provide help in these forums on my own time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2009, 11:49 PM
bmcc81 bmcc81 is offline
New Bee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Default

To fix my outgoing email settings I had to go to my internet service provider and check what the SMTP outgoing settings where.

I find it strange, because before I never had to do this. Must be a new thing.

However for outgoing mail server for Videotron (Mtl service provider) it was:
relais.videotron.ca

I attached photos if anyone would like to see the important things that I changed.

- bmcc81
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mail_settings1.jpg (39.2 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg Mail_settings5.jpg (42.9 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blacklist, bounce email, email, ip block, mail error


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright WHB Networks LLC. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0